Deduplication with big record size

MatMK

Cadet
Hello. I am not sure if this is the right place for the thread, but couldn't find better category.

I am a beginner with both TrueNAS and ZFS. As probably a lot of people before me, I am toying with the idea of de-duplication. And as a lot of people before me, I am getting recommended from everywhere to stay away from it.

However, I fail to understand one thing. When learning about the topic, I stumbled upon an interesting reddit comment, where the person argues that de-duplication does not require crazy hardware, if configured correctly. Specifically, that the default record size should be increased. From my (limited) knowledge, it seems like the logic is correct (my explanation later). If true, I keep wondering why this isn't more often recommended on this forum.

I tried to explain this to myself as follows: (Please take this with a grain of salt - I am not presenting this as a correct information and I fully expect being corrected if I am wrong):

The dedup table takes 320B for every block it has to housekeep. For a block size of 128 KiB, that results in 2.5 GiB per TiB of data.

The problem is, that would work if all blocks were exactly 128 KiB (and each would be unique).

What causes it to increase:
If we theoretically had sizes of all the files divisible by the block size, there wouldn't be any increase. But in the real world, that is hardly the case. Because ZFS sets only the maximum record size and leaves it variable, there will be a lot of smaller records, which will also have to be managed with the same fixed overhead as whole full records. This increases the dedup table size, by a percentage that hugely depends on how big files you keep in your system. For a lot of small files, there will be a lot of small records, and the table size will rise quickly. For big files, it will rise only marginally (just for the record that holds the last bytes that did not fit).

What causes it to decrease: