Data transfers drop after transferring approx 2gb

twitcher

Dabbler
Hi All I am extremely new to truenas so be kind on me. I initially install core but found I couldn't achieve my goal so change to scale but seem to be having issues. I am on a 1gb network and when a transfer is started i get approx 40MB's but after say 2gb it drops to 5-12mb's. I didnt have this problem on truenas core and would get 40-50mb's all day. Just confused how on Core had no issue but on Scale i do.

I am using an
HP proliant ML310e Gen8
E3-1220
16GB Ram
4x4TB Sata drives

William Grzybowski

Wizard
iXsystems
Would be interesting to know how are you transferring. Is this SMB? Did you migrate the config? Do you have auxiliary parameters?

twitcher

Dabbler
Hi @twitcher

Sorry to hear you're having challenges. I assume you're running SCALE 23.10.2 which is the latest stable version?

What make and model are your 4TB SATA drives?
I am using 2 x WD Nasware 3.0 drives, 1 x WD purple, 1 x Toshiba Surveillance drive. I just wanted to get it up and running so using a mixture. When I tried Core it transferred at a pretty constant 40MB's all I did was change the OS and now only get 40 for like 2gb then just drops.

twitcher

Dabbler
Would be interesting to know how are you transferring. Is this SMB? Did you migrate the config? Do you have auxiliary parameters?
Sorry missed that off the original post. Its SMB share copying from a windows laptop to the server. I have tried wired and wireless with the same results. I also tried iperf and got and pretty consistent 35-40 MB's. No auxiliary parameters just the defaults

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
This is likely due to the differences in ARC handling between Core and Scale. You should try upgrading to the Dragonfish RC, which makes the Scale ARC handling the same as Core's.

William Grzybowski

Wizard
iXsystems
ARC is unlikely to make a difference since this is for writes.