CPU and Motherboard advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rory898

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm just starting out on my journey to build a freenas server and connect it to my home network.
I've been offered (what I think is) a good deal on a CPU and motherboard. I wanted to ask here what people thought of the motherboard and CPU for freenas before I pulled the trigger.

Motherboard: Supermicro X11SSL-F - I see that this is in the recommended hardware list so I'm assuming it's a safe bet
CPU: E3-1225 V5 - the recommended hardware list has an E3-1230, wondering if the 1225 is close enough

Also I know the 1225 has onboard video that I don't need but the seller doesn't have a 1220 version.

Thanks in advance!

jro

iXsystems
iXsystems
This combination looks like it'll work well. The E3-1230 just adds hyperthreading and bumps the clock speed by 100MHz. Most FreeNAS operations are single-threaded, so four non-hyperthreaded cores should be just fine for small use cases. How much storage are you considering attaching to this machine?

On-board GPU on the CPU is a good thing, you'll be able to use the VGA port on the motherboard for initial FreeNAS installation and config. Without an integrated GPU, you'd likely have to use a PCIe video card to perform these steps.

anmnz

Patron
On-board GPU on the CPU is a good thing
No it isn't, that motherboard has its own video support so the CPU video will never be needed.

Rory898

Cadet
I was planning on attaching 6 3tb WD red drives to it. It's main use will be a Plex Media Server.
I've decided to pull the trigger on the deal and got the Motherboard and CPU for £170. Is this as good of a deal as I thought? Both were used but working and can be returned.

jro

iXsystems
iXsystems
No it isn't, that motherboard has its own video support so the CPU video will never be needed.
Whoops, my bad, missed that line in the specs :)

I was planning on attaching 6 3tb WD red drives to it. It's main use will be a Plex Media Server.