SOLVED Connection constantly dropping and 90%+ packet loss

viliom1

Cadet
Hi,
This is my first time trying to configure a trueNAS, but whatever I do, I can't connect to web UI and when pinging my NAS I get timeouts or unreachable, or a reply ?!
1638651526276.png

I've tried to use static IP and DHCP, but in the case of DHCP I always get "No DHCPOFFERS received".
When I ping my default gateway 192.168.0.1 from the truenas I get the same weird behavior as pinging shown above.

ifconfig shows correct MAC under ether, correct IP (192.168.0.152) and netmask (24) under inet and status is active

Steps done are:
-Installed trueNAS 12.0 (also done same stuff with freeNAS 11.2) iso on usb stick
-Load the os and install on separate usb stick
-Installation goes fine
-NAS loads and points to 0.0.0.0
-Configure network interface
--IPv4 re0 192.168.0.152/24
-Configure Default route
--IPv4 re0 192.168.0.1
-Configure DNS

I am connected via ethernet to router (TP-LINK Archer 60 v3.0)
LAN was working fine under windows, cable too ( i've changed multiple cables and tested on other pc's )
I've noticed that in my routers web gui I can see the truenas client constantly appearing and disappearing in my clients list.

HW
MB: GA-A320M-DS2
CPU: AMD A12-9800
RAM:1x8GB
NIC: onboard re0
HDD: 1x2TB NAS HDD

Thanks in advance!

UPDATE: Cool n' Quiet and C6 states are messing with TN, so disabling them in UEFI was the solution.

Last edited:

NugentS

MVP
Do you have an Intel (or similar) NIC you could try instead of the onboard one. TN has limited support for non mainline network cards and you are using a crappy Realtek. You might have better luck with TrueNAS Scale which has better support for other NICs - but Scale not as polished as TN Core yet. It depends on your use case
I also note that you have very limited PCIe availability but assume that the X16 is available and that you are using the onboard graphics.