Configuring SSH for Putty/FireFTP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beran Muden

Cadet
Hello all,

For the last two months, I've been the proud owner of a FreeNAS box.
And although I work as an IT professional (Windows-minded), I've had quite some trouble setting up a safe FTP solution for my NAS. Even after doing the required RTFM and googling for a similiar solution, the steep learning process made it difficult for me to breeze through the setup.

But, the good news is I finally managed to pull of the FTP solution I wanted, in this case FTP through SSH. For those who are interested, I've made a small tutorial on how to properly configure SSH for a safe FTP solution which uses private/public keys. Since I cannot post in the "How-To Guides"-section, I've posted it here. If possible and if desired so by other users, perhaps this tutorial could be moved to the proper section.

Prerequisites:
- Generally know your way around FreeNAS (RTFM)
- Have access to Putty and the Putty generator.
This particular configuration was done on a FreeNAS-9.2.1.5-RELEASE-x64 setup.
See the bottom of the page for further information on that.

What to do:
- Open puttygen.exe
- Create a new SSH-2 RSA key with 2048 bits
putty1.PNG

- Enter a key passphrase to encrypt the key on disk (and confirm the same passphrase)
- Save the private key to disk. You will need this key on your client to connect to FreeNAS
- If you want, you can save the public key to disk, this is optional.
(You can also recover the public key by opening the private key in puttygen.exe)
- Copy the data from the field "Public key for pasting into OpenSSH authorized_keys file:"
putty2.PNG

- Paste the key into the "SSH Public Key" field from the user account on FreeNAS
FreeNAS-SSH2.PNG

- Turn on the SSH service on the FreeNAS, default settings and port 22
FreeNAS-SSH1.PNG

Putty:
The initial setup is now complete.
You're now able to connect to your FreeNAS with Putty while using a private and public key.