Choosing a microATX based on ram cost & encryption needs

Status
Not open for further replies.

luckyal

Dabbler
Guilty! Total newb here so please be patient.

I was lurking on the Plex subreddit and found a thread that pointed me to a X8SIL-F build. I was kind of intrigued, as it was low powered, microATX size and I can get my 8X8TB WD Reds into the thing. Then I discovered that if I wanted more than 8GB of RAM, I would be paying a lot more than what I would have paid for the mobo+cpu+heatsink/fan+8GB Ram together because it's 2XR8 ram (whatever that means). I'm was told that for basic home NAS with a few plugins like Nextcloud and maybe a VM here and there I wouldn't need more than 8GB anyway. I wasn't convinced, so bought 2X8GB of Micron 2XR8
PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600) Registered ECC ram (who buys RAM first, right?). Anyway, I was doing more digging on the X8SIL-F and found that the XEON x3470 it doesn't support INTEL's AES-NI encryption. So all of this leaves me with three remaining questions:

1. What do I miss out on if I forgo encryption altogether. If I wanted to host some space so a couple of my musician buddies can back up their projects to, can that be done so securely, so that even I don't have access to their files without whole volume encryption?

2. Assuming I need encryption, what kind of a performance hit should I expect vs non-encryption?

3. This seems completely unrelated but....since it appears that RAM cost is all over the board, how can I chose a microATX board that would give me the best all around value RAM+CPU+Motherboard. One important note: I really like onboard SAS and would like to use breakout cable to connect my 8 drives.

Any help would be very much appreciated!

Inxsible

Guru
That board uses the LGA1156 socket. If you really need the encryption, you can swap out the processor with one of these i5's

https://ark.intel.com/Search/Featur...ssors&SocketsSupported=FCLGA1156&AESTech=true
The most expensive processor in that list costs $42.