capped ad 113MBytes

henqbleom

Dabbler
hi my server capps ad 113 MBytes writing speed. does anyone know what could be the problem?
the hardware that i use for my server is:
rog strix b550 - gaming (Intel® I225-V 2.5Gb Ethernet)
32gb ram from corsair (3600mhz)
ryzen 5600g cpu
2 Seagate HDD NAS 3.5" 4TB ST4000VN008 Ironwolf
1 samsung ssd boot.

the pc that i use to transfer files from to the nas exist of:
msi b550 gaming edge wifi (1x Realtek® RTL8125B 2.5G LAN)
16gb corsair ram (3200mhz)
ryzen 5 3700 cpu

i put a StarTech.com 1 poorts gigabit ethernet (Intel® I210-AT) in my pc that i want to transfer files from to my server.
i ran iperf3 but got the same results as without the Intel® I210-AT. I use a netgearGS180 switch capable of 1000 Mbits.
some how i am not getting the ful transfer speed. if i transfer files from the pc to another disk on the pc i get more speed then to the server.
iperf3 nas test.png

these are my disk settings
disk options.png

im very new to truenas so i dont know how to run all the tests that i need. if you need more information i am happy to provide.
thanks for the help

Last edited:

Nick2253

Wizard
I think you might be having a unit problem here.

MBps is different than Mbps is different than mbps. Ditto GBps is different from Gbps. Little "b" is bits, big "B" is bytes.

A 1Gbps (gigabit per second) network card usually can transfer data around 110 MBps (megabytes per second). In theory, 1 Gbps is exactly 128 MBps, however there is some network overhead that causes the actual transfer speed to be different.

Look at the first screenshot you posted. Your 1Gbps network link is providing bandwidth of right around 0.95Gbps, which delivers about 113MB/s. That's just about what I'd expect.

Edit to add:
if i transfer files from the pc to another disk on the pc i get more speed then to the server.