Can't bind to secondary DC

Status
Not open for further replies.

echelon5

Explorer
I'm having a problem binding FreeNAS to a secondary DC and I need some pointers on how to troubleshoot this. I'm fairly new to Active Directory and I think it has something to do with DNS.

Problem: FreeNAS binds to primary domain controller, but doesn't bind to secondary domain controller, when PDC is offline.

Machine Setup: it's pretty simple on both FreeNAS and Domain Controller. I've set them up following mostly FreeNAS documentation and Microsoft documentation.
- FreeNAS running FreeNAS-11.1-U4 on freenas1 and 11.1-U5 on freenas2
- both fnas1 and fnas2 work correctly when dc1 is online, but neither binds when dc1 is offline.
- DCs are running Windows 2016 with the same ativirus with the exact same settings

Network Setup:
- 3 locations: onsite, offsite and azure all connected between each other through IPSEC
- dc (dc1) and freenas 1 (fnas1) are onsite, freenas 2 (fnas2) offsite, secondary dc (dc2) is an Azure VM.
- configured zones for each location in AD DNS
- dc1 = 192.168.0.6 - Windows 2016 Essentials
- dc2 = 10.0.0.6 - Windows 2016 Datacenter

Other details:
- Windows machines seem to work ok with dc2
- DNS on both DCs point to each other
- replication and DNS between the DCs seems to work fine
- I've setup this up a few months ago, on 11.1-U2 I think and I'm pretty sure it worked correctly at the time

Error 1
Using nameserver1: IP address of DC1 and nameserver2: IP address of DC2

Something related to SRV records, similar to another thread (link ):

Jul 22 14:47:08 fnas2 uwsgi: [common.freenasldap:1147] FreeNAS_ActiveDirectory_Base.get_SRV_records: looking up SRV records for _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.adsub.contoso.com
Jul 22 14:47:13 fnas2 uwsgi: [common.freenasldap:1166] FreeNAS_ActiveDirectory_Base.get_SRV_records: no SRV records for _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.adsub.contoso.com found: The DNS operation timed out after 5.003402233123779 seconds