Cannot connect to NAS after clicking some network options.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I will try to be as technical as I can be. I am no networking guru, and I won't lie...but I simply don't understand what I am doing. I have figured out many things in the past by intentionally breaking them to fix them. I am new at this, so am experiencing growing pains. I will try to explain.

I don't have my NAS in the sense of it being connected to a network. It is/was connected DIRECTLY to my PC by ethernet cable. I was able to see/discover the NAS server by using windows "Network" and clicking on it prompted me for the user name/password. I could access the web GUI by entering the IP Address that was given on the NAS server.

My "Internet" connection is provided by a wireless PCI card. My NAS worked by ethernet connection.

Tonight I clicked on internet sharing button, and it disabled my ability to see/connect to the NAS Server. Unclicking the ICS button on my windows PC has not restored access, and the NAS is reporting a Http://0.0.0.0 IP address, which I know is not real. I know that I was in a "Homegroup" that was separate from the rest of the house as well....which makes no sense to me, and tells me that there was 2 different "Homegroups"

To keep it simple, It seems that I am looking for an easy way to connect to this NAS again via Ethernet to ethernet connection. Since I don't understand how SMP servers work, or why it would not work any more I am asking for help again.

sfcredfox

Patron
A good amount of home networking products (routers) have both wireless and wired ports. I'm wondering if you can't just connect FreeNAS to your home router?

If not, a possible but terrible way to connect it to your network that might be easier is getting a wireless adapter for it, or a wireless bridge that connects an Ethernet cabled device to the wireless. Speeds will be horrible, but do you need fast transfers or just to stream something?