Cannot access data on ZFS mirror migrated from Proxmox

JEr4t6kJC3

Cadet
Greetings,

I just installed SCALE, coming from Proxmox, so I'm quite new to the system - bear with me :)

In my Proxmox install I had a couple of disks in a ZFS mirror. The mirror was used by a VM running OpenMediaVault in which I mounted the disks and ran a SMB environment.

Now I'm trying to access the data on the drives in SCALE. I imported the ZFS pool without any issues however I cannot create a share that includes the pre-excisting content on the disks. To me, it seems like I'm creating a share on the remaining available 221.83 GiB of data.

My Storage-tab looks like this:
dump.png

Navigating to the "Shares"-tab and setting up a SMB share ends up looking like this:
dump2.png

Now, I have no problem accessing this share, but theres not data on it. Navigating to the shell and subsequently navigating to the /mnt/Multimedia and listing the content reveals an empty void.

What am I doing wrong?
How do I "select" the pre-excisting partition with content and mount that as needed?

Thank you in advance!

Arwen

MVP
It appears that your pool used a ZFS zVol, (shown as a VOLUME in the GUI), for storage, and not a dataset. ZFS zVols are useful for VMs, (local or remote), and foreign file systems.

TrueNAS SCALE does not do anything directly with zVols. It will either let you use them with a VM. Or export them as iSCSI to an external computer.

Basically your prior Proxmox configuration is different enough from TrueNAS SCALE that you have to know what was using that zVol. Like Linux with EXT3. Then you can consider making a Linux VM that can read that zVol. Since you mention Open Media Vault, that is probably what used that zVol. (I have no knowledge of Open Media Vault... so I don't know what OS & file system it could be.)

JEr4t6kJC3

Cadet
Alright, thank you so much for clarifying. I've got a theoretical solution that I'd love to get your input on whether it is feasable or not: