Can I mix Hard Drives

Status
Not open for further replies.

NASRookie

Dabbler
Hello! I am new to FreeNAS and have a question. I probably know the answer, but like to get your opinions. I have a spare PC that I would like to use FreeNAS on which has 4GB of ram a i5 CPU. My question is: I have 2 SATA 3 6GB ports and 6 SATA 2 ports (Hope that's what you call them) Can I buy 2 SATA 3 HDDs and 2 SATA 2 HDDs and will they work together with FreeNAS?

Hope this make sence lol!
Thanks for your help!

jgreco

Resident Grinch
as far as drive types go, why obsess over it? they probably only barely max out a sata-i port. but 4gb is too little memory for stable operation.

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
And don't buy sata II just because you have some sata II ports. 3 is backwards compatible

Sent from my Nexus 5

9C1 Newbee

Patron
Using non-ecc ram presents a data corruption vulnerability with ZFS.

Using less than 8 gigs of memory is not really advisable. Having said that, I had a 9TB ZFS pool with 2 gigs. That was just asking for trouble and it was slow. I imagine with 4 gigs, you won't be asking for trouble as loudly and won't be as slow. The larger the pool, the larger the ram requirements. Thought I would point that out from one newb to another.

NASRookie

Dabbler
Can I start with say 2-2TB drives, then add two more later on to add more storage?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Check out my presentation in my sig. That answers your question. Stickies.... your new best friend.

NASRookie

Dabbler
Thanks cyberjock, but it doesn't say how many drives you can start with. all I wanna know it can I start out with 2x2TB WD Red HDD's and add more later on.

Thanks

cyberjock

Inactive Account
The manual tells you how many drives you need for the various vdev types.

Sorry, I was under the impression you already read the manual and was concerned about expansion.

A

alfredperlstein