Building my first freeNAS!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kourosh

Dabbler
First of all let me thank you for all of your efforts and the great forum.

I am completely new to freeNAS. It has been a month or so that I am researching about it and I decided to build my own homer server with freeNAS as the OS. My main usages are twofolds;
1) Plex media server and 2) backup machine for my macBook along with the Time Machine.

The main issue is that I am having a tight budget for now (I am Ph.D. student, hopefully things will change in a near future), therefore I would like to go with the minimums but with the ability to expand in the future.

Based on my understanding a descent freeNAS server, with the ability to stream to 3-4 devices using Plex server cost around $700-$800. Am I right?

So far, I have ended up with the following build which is based on this build by John Ramsden. Thank you John!

My two main questions are;
1. Of course, is this a good build for freeNAS?
2. Can I start with one 4TB hard drive, and then later on add two more 4TB hard drives and get RAID-Z1 (with one parity). I think this is not possible, and I have to start with three hard drives(with whatever capacity) for RAID-Z1, is that right?

Basically, based on my limited research, it seems that I cannot change the capacity of VDev after its creation without loosing my data. Right?

The system:
Processor: Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3 3.4 GHz Quad-Core LGA 1150 Processor
Model #: BX80646E31231V3

Motherboard: Supermicro X10SL7-F

RAM: 8GB Crucial ECC RAM
Model #: CT8G3ERSLS4160B

Hard Drives: Western Digital-Red 4TB 3.5’’
SanDisk-X300S 64GB 2.5’’

Power Supply: Corsair RMx Series, RM850x

danb35

Hall of Famer
I think this is not possible, and I have to start with three hard drives(with whatever capacity) for RAID-Z1, is that right?

That's correct.
it seems that I cannot change the capacity of VDev after its creation without loosing my data. Right?