Build on a budget

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wahkan

Cadet
Hi everyone and sorry for dropping in like that.

I've read a couple of these "Wil it run"-threads and all of these builds are pretty overpowered for a system I have in mind (at least I think). I'm planning to build an almost dead silent build for a simple home media streaming machine as well as netwok attached mass storage. For that purpose I've been running a WD MyCloud Mirror for the past 2 years.
Now I'm not unsatisfied with that but there are some features I'm missing and one of them is pretty much crucial for me by now. Running qbittorrent in the background all the time. On the WebBased page I could set up an app but I'd like to stick qith qbit for several reasons.

For that reason I was planning to build a low cost, low power-consumption und silent machine and while planning that I stumpled upon FreeNAS. The Build I had in mind was reasonable enough to do what I want (or so I thought) so I'll share those few parts and hope you can help me out if it'll run with these specs.
~ 63€ - Motherboard ASRock J3355B-ITX
~ 62€ - PSU 300W be quiet! SFX Power 2
~ 40€ - Case Sharkoon QB ONE < No amazon-link available
~ 115€ - RAM G.SKILL 16GB (2 x 8GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600
~ 12€ - BOOT DRIVE SanDisk CruzerEdge 16GB

I'd attach my existing 2x 3TB WD RED from the aforementioned existing NAS into this system. I'm aware that this RAM is no ECC-Ram and the picked boot-drive won't be as fast as an SSD. Considering I only have 2 SATA-ports on this motherbord I'd need to go that way or buy an extra more expensive expansion card.
Anything else needed to get this machine running is already in my posession.

Would it even be possible to have an instance of qbittorrent running on FreeNAS? Or do I need to find an altogether different solution?

Thanks for taking the time and replying.

Kind regards
Wahkan

m0nkey_

MVP