help with a silent, budget, home FreeNAS beginner build

Status
Not open for further replies.

petoniano

Dabbler
Hi! this is my first post in the forum, hello everyone. I've read a few pages inside this forum and haven't found a build to "copy" for me.

I'm new with FreeNAS, and new with servers. After reading a lot of info about FreeNAS I've decided to try to build my own server. I'm from Spain and some components are difficult to find, or at least to find with a good price.

I want a server that has to be quite silent because it's going to be in the living room next to the router and the TV, and my girlfriend, who is like scotland yard has to approve it :eek:). My use of the server will be: Backups of my family data (not too much), storage of movies and series, SMB sharing, owncloud..., but I would like to try plex and give a try to learn with 1 or 2 VM. I thought to buy a synology or a Qnap in the first moment, but then I saw the HP proliant gen10 microserver, and then this forum to try to build my own build.

I've seen here many builds with lots of drives and big cases and lot of ram... but I need a more budget build. The main reason I want a FreeNAS build over a Synology is to learn to build and be my own system administrator of my DIY NAS, I'm not an expert but I like the command line and use linux in my laptop.

I plan a miniitx motherboard and case to go at the beginning with 2x 4TB 3.5WD red drives mirrored, and in the future add a 3rd or 4th drive to the pool when I need more space.

- I thought to buy the basic HP Proliant gen10 Opteron x3216 8Gb ram, because it's only 250 euros plus the drives, and give a try to FreeNAS and see if it is for me. I know some issues with the installation solved in the forum and with the SATA Marvell controller. And that it is not very powerful and it may be short in the future.

- Other similar option: going for the higher HP with the Opteron x3421 and 16Gb of ram around 650 euros.