BUILD Build for reliable backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

spierce7

Dabbler
Hey guys, so I'm looking to make a build where I can:
1. Set up a space for my wife and I to have our mac time machine back ups.
2. Store several GB of family photos
3. Store several TB of family videos
4. Create a simple site that uses the FreeNAS API to allow my entire family to upload new images / videos, and search through all the images / videos that have been made.

There are a few questions that I have:
1. Is FreeNAS right for this? Should I be at least considering maybe an easier option?
2. How powerful of a machine do I need? I've been going through the hardware recommendations, only to find that I don't know if I'm buying something that's too powerful, or not powerful enough.
3. Are there any solutions that already exist for #4 above? I'm a software engineer, and wouldn't mind rolling my own, but surely I'm not the only one with this desire.
4. I was considering raid 5 or raid 6. I've read in some other places that raid is not a backup solution. Assuming that I want to be pretty certain that I won't lose this data, do I need to create a 2nd device that will create a snapshot every night or so of everything stored on the freenas? What do people normally do for this?
5. How much money should I be looking to spend? I want something with at least 4+ TB to start, with the ability to grow in the future if need be. I'm not looking to cut corners, but I'm not wanting to spend more than I need to.
6. Are there any previously documented, relevant builds that would suit my need well? I've found some online, but they are somewhat old.

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
  1. FreeNAS is a viable option. There are others. Ideally, test out a few and see which you prefer.
  2. For the requirements you listed, nothing fancy. Entry level for something off-the-shelf would be a Dell PowerEdge T20 or a Lenovo TS140.