BUILD help me build a simple home NAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

derekzchu

Dabbler
Hi. I'm new to building machines and I wanted to start by building a simple NAS for home use. The most it'll be doing is bittorrent sync, running PLEX, and setting up owncloud to share pictures and videos with family. I don't think i'll be transcoding more than 2 streams at a time. For the most part, I'm not looking for screaming hardware but something that'll do the job reliably and a small form factor. After reading the forums and understanding ECC vs. not, I'm looking for a recommendation on a mini-itx motherboard that supports ECC that doesn't break the bank.

So far my parts are:
4 WD RED 4TB drives. Planning on going with RAID-Z2
Fractal Design node 304

I would like to keep the build small and hence the mini-itx. There's a lot of supermicro recommendations but they're all uATX form factors. I don't think I'll need more than 16GB RAM. For the processor, I was at first leaning towards the Intel g3220 and g3258 but it depends on the motherboard. Thanks in advance!

joeschmuck

Old Man
There are a lot of folks here that have posted their small footprint FreeNAS builds, just do a little searching for them. Once you find something you like make sure to ask those folks how they like the system they built and if they could do it again, what would they change and why. Learn from their experiences. Also pay attention to the 9.3 threads as some hardware is having difficulties right now, not saying those will not be resolved but it's worth noting.

DKarnov

Dabbler
The hardware in my sig is a variation on a typical theme. A 550W PSU is far, far more than you need, but I do recommend at least a semi-modular one, for cable management. The fan upgrade is due to unavoidably high ambient temps and is not necessary for most cases. If you're a Neat Wiring Guy, plan for more hassle and experimentation with the HDD power and data cabling than with a roomier case.