Build for crashplan replacement

Status
Not open for further replies.

dvicker

Cadet
I'm very new to FreeNAS but experienced with computer hardware and software (I manage a linux HPC lab at work). I'm starting to look at FreeNAS as an alternative to CrashPlan since they are pulling out of the consumer business. So the purpose of this thread is twofold - 1) is my use case good? and 2) if so, seeking advice on a good but reasonably priced build.

I liked CrashPlan because:
  • Good OS support - Windows, OS X and Linux
  • Free! (I'm cheap)
  • Could back up all the computers in the house to a single drive attached to a desktop that is always on (this box also is a DVR and media server)
  • Strong encryption (storing financial data)
  • Off site backup - I was (am) using two destinations on all the computers I use - a local hard drive and a friend's computer for offsite. I REALLY liked this because the local drive is fast and will easily get all the nightly updates. If I dump a large set of data, it may take a while for that to sync to my friend's house but it eventually gets there and keeps my data safe in case my house burns down or whatever else.