Status
Not open for further replies.

tranced1

Cadet
Hi, I need to rebuild Freenas kernel with commented out

Code:
#device  ahd

in order to use it with adaptec hba.

The problem is that I've never built any kernels before and simply don't know where to start :)

Maybe someone with working envieronment could help me out, or just build the kernel without this device, so I could just load it in my system?

I'am running 9.2-RELEASE-p4.

Any help appreciated.

tranced1

Cadet
Because it is stated by adaptec

3.6 FreeBSD Installation and Setup
o Before installing the HBA driver for FreeBSD, you must build a
custom FreeBSD kernel with the 'ahd' driver disabled. Follow
these steps:

1. ls to /usr/src/sys/<platform>/conf/ (<platform> is amd64/i386)
2. cp GENERIC to MYKERNEL
3. Open the file MYKERNEL, then comment out the ahd option and save the file:
#device ahd
4. cd to /usr/src/
5. Compile the kernel: make buildkernel KERNCONF=MYKERNEL
6. Install the kernel: make installkernel KERNCONF=MYKERNEL
7. Reboot the computer

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Those steps won't work.

To be honest, if your controller won't work with FreeNAS out of the box you shouldn't be using it. You haven't mentioned the controller you are wanting to add support for, but RAID controllers are pure evil(adaptecs have been evil without exception for FreeNAS). What controller are you considering?

If you have never compiled a kernel before, you are looking at an extremely steep learning curve. You don't compile it the same as FreeBSD. You'll literally have to compile FreeNAS from github, editing it to include your driver. You can't just run a few commands like the FreeBSD instructions imply. FreeNAS is an appliance OS and as such adding stuff isn't wise or even possible in most cases.

tranced1

Cadet
I understand that those steps won't work, I just need to compile Freenas from scratch with this option disabled in the conf file, I was unable to find compiling guide for Freenas.