Bizarre Permissions Issue

HarryStottle

Dabbler
so I have a shared drive (smb share) with a bunch of folders which my users have full read/write access to and I am the owner. All working perfectly.

But none of us can create new folders. If I try, I'm told I need permission from myself, to create the folder!

However, if I create a folder somewhere on my local workstation, I can copy it across to the drive without issue. And once the folder exists, we can all do whatever we want to inside it EXCEPT create a new sub folder. Which, again, I can get around by creating it elsewhere and copying it across.

What am I missing?

chuck32

Guru
Please share the error message and your ACL configuration.

Did you maybe change permissions afterwards and did not apply them recursively?

HarryStottle

Dabbler
Capturing the error message is simple enough, but, as a newbie, I don't know how to capture the ACL config and although I can find plenty about how to perform the configuration I can't find any idiot guide to retrieving it for the purposes of the kind of diagnosis you wish to perform.

I'm guessing its a quick job but I haven't guessed what that job is!

Oh, and No, I didn't fail to apply recursively. If anything I fear I may overuse the "Apply Recursively" button because I press it after every change (if its available) just in case.

chuck32

Guru
Capturing the error message is simple enough, but, as a newbie, I don't know how to capture the ACL config
Just share screenshots of the error message and of the screen in the true as GUI where you configured your permissions.

HarryStottle

Dabbler