Bidirectional Sync of two FreeNASes

Status
Not open for further replies.

sunrunner20

Cadet
I've got a problem where I have a Family Master FreeNAS at site A that replicates to Personal FreeNAS B (soon to be at Site B). Currently Sync is a A -> B ZFS Replications (Send/Recv).

However, as soon as B is at site B it will become my Main FreeNAS, which presents a problem- Senc/Recv does not allow sending changes back. So, I am going to need a method to send those changes back over a fairly slow link (7mbit - OpenVPN overhead).

I've got several requirements:
  • "modified at A and modified at B" won't come up often, but I would like this to be left up to me to decide.
  • Cannot just create a full copy of the data and then rsync changes around (Although a clone from the latest snapshot sent over and managed with a cron job would be acceptable, and the likely beginning of a solution)
  • Would prefer it to handle interruptions smoothly as this isn't the fastest or stablest connection.
  • Can't consume a ton of memory (local box only has 16gig), I have about 10TB of data.
Currently I've found a utility called Unison (http://www.cis.upenn.edu/~bcpierce/unison/docs.html), which looks promising. I haven't thought it completely through yet but Unison could keep the changes replicated over to master and from master, on a clone that I regularly destroy and then recreate once Unison indicates everything is in sync. The clone would be created from the a recent replicated snapshot.

Does anybody see any pitfalls here I should plan for, or risks I can't mitigate and just have to accept?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
The canonical solution would be rsync.

The inevitable crap performance can be mitigated by minimizing the amount of data that needs rsyncing. In other words, separate stuff into three overarching datasets:
  • stuff_edited_by_A - Replicated from A to B, read-only on B
  • stuff_edited_by_B - Replicated from B to A, read-only on A
  • other_stuff - rsynced