Best options for 20 x 4TB HDDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

dahlia

Cadet
Hi guys, I'm new to FreeNAS and NAS in general but I've been reading these forums for the past week and I'm pretty confident with my hardware selection so far as I've chosen parts from the recommended hardware sticky.

My question is I'm planning on filling my 20 hot swappable bay case with 4TB drives. I'm aware It's not wise to add all these disks into the same pool so what do you recommend I do?

My case has 4 cages of 5 hard drives. I was originally thinking of making it 4 separate pools as that's cosmetically easier to look at but I've read that raidz2 requires a minimum 6 disks.

Any advice would be great.
Thank you
:)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jgreco

Resident Grinch
You can add a hundred drives to a pool - or more. You just don't want them all in the same vdev. Cyberjock has a slideshow explaining lots of related stuff over in the New User forum, where this message has been moved to.

dahlia

Cadet
Ah sorry for putting the thread in the wrong forum, my mistake. And yeah I just realised I used the wrong terminology.

As you assumed I did mean vdev. How do you recommend I set this up? 4 vdevs of 5 hard drives or something more obscure?

Thanks again.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
If you are looking for max size, I'd go with 2 RAIDZ2 vdevs (10 disks in each).

dahlia

Cadet
Yeah I am looking for max size. I've currently got 24TBs of data on my PC that isn't backed up. I want to set this new NAS box up and have room to transfer all this data onto and then some more.

Is it risky using 10 X 4TB drives in a single vdev?
Maybe I should do 5 x 4TB drives as a raidz3

What do you think about 5 zpools, 4 drives in each at raidz2?

Last edited:

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
Yeah I am looking for max size.
Is it risky using 10 X 4TB drives in a single vdev?