BUILD Basic build suggestions for photographer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Markman

Cadet
Greetings,

After a couple years of thinking about it I've finally decided that I need a NAS to manage my photography as well as music files. It will be a pretty basic setup, especially at the beginning. I only need about 2TB of storage right now but that will increase each year as I process more images and add music. It will be primarily editing/backing-up images on my main desktop. I may want to connect my laptop from a different location in the house. I will also stream music to my Squeezebox but beyond that I don't plan on streaming a bunch of content to multiple devices. I have a budget of $500-$700 max and want to build something that will get me going and allow for expansion over the next few years.

I'm a definite noob when it comes to this but I have built a couple of desktops so I'm not afraid of the process. There are so many options out there so I was hoping to get a few suggestions on some components that might be a good start. Any help sincerely appreciated!

gpsguy

Here's a good read: So you want some hardware suggestions

How do you envision your photo workflow? Will all the images reside on your desktop and then backed up on the server? And, will the editing be done from the copy on your desktop or the server. Are you primarily editing RAW files or JPG's?

Markman

Cadet
Here's a good read: So you want some hardware suggestions

How do you envision your photo workflow? Will all the images reside on your desktop and then backed up on the server? And, will the editing be done from the copy on your desktop or the server. Are you primarily editing RAW files or JPG's?