Backup Basics: via SMB or is this a 'Replication'?

NumberSix

Contributor
Hi
I am a fairly low tech user of TrueNAS Core. Mine consists of two mirrored 8TB drives (for a theoretical 16 in total). I have organised them as one pool with 3 datasets.

My (on a budget) plan is to buy a third 8Tb drive, mount it in an external drive enclosure and use this as backup. How should I best go about the backup? My instinct is to connect it to my Windows 10 PC and send files to it from TrueNAS via SMB, but that's my instinct because I know how to do that! I wonder though if there's a better way - one that preserves everything on the TrueNAS drives as they are now, including the ZFS filing system? Is that 'replication'? Or would I need a second TrueNAS machine to do that? Help! End of the day, it's my files that are paramount, and ZFS could be rebuilt from scratch, but as I plainly am not aware of all the issues, I wonder what the 'best' way of doing this is? Thank you for your thoughts.

Etorix

Wizard
@Arwen has a resource for you:

And there's a previous thread with screenshots. Basically, you create a pool on the single external drive, create a (recursive) replication task to replicate all relevant datasets (possibly the top dataset to catch them all in one go), run this task manually, and then export the backup pool (without destroying it!!!).

kiriak

Contributor
I am also a home user without IT background.

I use both ways and keep 3 encrypted USB disks at my job's place. I bring them home one by one and do the backups.

I see advantages in both ways.
Replicated snapshots have all the info of my NAS datasets, the integrity checks of ZFS, are superfast and I think I forget sth.
Using a backup utility on my PC is easier for noobs like me, I see with my eyes what is to be backed up (some times is a lifesaver as I have seen erros in the setup of the backup or I realize that sth is missing from the source), is easier for my kids to find the data if I go away.