Backing up the FreeNAS flash drive itself

Status
Not open for further replies.

mvt

Cadet
The only discussions I can find dealing with backup are about backing
up a client computer or data.
I am wondering how to back up (and restore) the flash drive containing
the FreeNAS operating system and all the additions and settings.

It seems to me that if you are running a FreeNAS with significant
tailoring, such as OwnCloud running in a jail, that a failure of the
flash drive would easily take down the system for an extended time
of rebuild and reconfigure. (right?)

How does one backup/restore the Flash Drive running everything?

Thanks.

Background:
I am still very new to this, although experienced in programming,
UNIX, local networks, etc. I have made one attempt at installing
FreeNAS, which looked successful but then failed to boot. So no
experience with FreeNAS.

My goal is a FreeNAS on new (cheap) hardware for a non-profit...
holding our newsletter editing files (for both Mac and PC), and
preferably with easy web access to allow photograph uploads from
our volunteers (most over 75 years of age). No need for speed,
such as streaming video.

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
The jails are on the data pool and you can backup the settings (System --> General --> Save Config button) so you don't backup/restore the system, if something goes wrong you just reinstall it and upload the saved config ;)

danb35

Hall of Famer
To elaborate a bit--the only thing on the flash drive that you need to back up is the config file. You can download it through the web GUI, and there are scripts floating around here to back it up to your pool on a schedule. Do a fresh install, upload the saved config, and you're good to go.

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
I agree.