Auto-Backing Up Jails

Dellyjoe

Explorer
Hello everyone,

I'm not sure if this is the right word I'm new to Freenas and nas in general. However I was listening to a Podcast self-hosted and they were talking about taking a snap shot of a container which I would think just means taking a snap shot of a jail. They then package it up some how and put it on there private github, so if they had to delete it for some reason or it broke then can build a new one in minutes.

Does anyone know how to start the process in doing this. I really just want to back-up my nextcloud sever, and maybe my plex sever. Just the jails not the external data that is storage in them.

Thank you for reading,
Joe

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
No, the podcast was talking about snapshots of Docker containers, which is a different technology from jails.

You can snapshot jails by just clicking the Update button beneath the jail:

1596799405417.png

You can also automate this via Tasks->Cron Jobs by running iocage snapshot <name of jail> on a periodic basis. To restore to a previous snapshot, run iocage rollback -n <name of snapshot> <name of jail>. Run iocage snaplist <name of jail>.

To generate a TAR archive of a jail, stop the jail, and run iocage export <name of jail>; this will create a TAR image of the jail in /mnt/<pool name>/iocage/images you can then copy off-site. To restore from the TAR image, run iocage import <name of jail>, without the TAR extension.

Dellyjoe

Explorer
No, the podcast was talking about snapshots of Docker containers, which is a different technology from jails.

View attachment 40628

You can also automate this via Tasks->Cron Jobs by running iocage snapshot <name of jail> on a periodic basis. To restore to a previous snapshot, run iocage rollback -n <name of snapshot> <name of jail>. Run iocage snaplist <name of jail>.