Authorised write & anonymous read on cifs & nfs shares

Status
Not open for further replies.

duckman

Dabbler
Hi, newbie here.

I have done a bit of searching, but can't quite find out what I'm after (if I've missed it, a link would be great thanks).

I have freenas 8.03 32bit, freshly installed.
A ZFS volume called "Data" which is at /mnt/Data
A dataset called "Music" on Data
A dataset called "Photos" also on Data
A dataset called "Scratch" also on Data

I haven't changed any permissions or added any users or anything.

What I want to do is to allow my wife & I full access to a share called "Music" which points to the Music dataset. We have a laptop each, both running linux.
I also want anonymous read only access to that share (so I can point a "media player" at the cifs share)
I want to share it via both CIFS and also NFS, exact same permissions whichever method I use to connect.

With Photos, I just want full access to auth'd users, no anonymous at all.

With Scratch, I want to allow anonymous read & write (basically no restrictions, a dumping ground).

I'm not sure how to proceed though - Ideally I'd like only one username/password for both me and the wife (ie we'd connect via cifs/nfs using one shared username/password).

So: Create a freenas user with a password? Change ownership of Music folder to him, what other permissions should I give (to allow anonymous read)?
How would I configure the CIFS and NFS shares to allow authenticated read/write and also anonymous read?
Or, should I create a user for both me and the wife, and create a group for them both?
How do I make sure files I later create on the shares 9as an auth'd user) are still readable to anonymous access?

Thank you in advance!

duckman

Dabbler
So, replying to my own post:

I created a user (pingu) and a group (igloo).
user pingu's main group is igloo

I made the owner of "Music" pingu and the group of Music igloo. Permissions on Music are owner rwx, group rwx, other rx

I shared Music via cifs: