Aoc-sat2-mv8 slow?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hibble

Dabbler
Hi all. and thankyou for anytime spent helping me out.

I have been using zfs and freenas for a few years now but it is time to rebuild my server and I wanted some advice. As it was only in use by me and 2 pc's for backup, performanc was not a issue. Now it is going to be used for backups of 5 pc's 4 users shared folders and offsite backups of 3 online servers. Not a large quantity of data each day but the performance I am getting is inconsistant and seems low. I need to find the bottle neck or rebuild now it will be used 24/7. e.g currantly a 8TB scrub takes 2 days if I go with larger drives in the future scrubs will take to long if done weekly.

When I set this up as a opensolaris with just 1 raidz1 <50% full I recall a scrub speed of ~350MB/s and faster cifs transfer but I have no record of this. Over the years it has had 2 mirros added for extra storage capacity and weekly+monthy snapshots ~5GB held in snapshots.

Now I get:
Scrub ~125MB/s (no network transfers in progress)
from server to main PC
Max nfs share 40-55MB/s (not often used)
Max cifs 30-50MB/s transfer will clime to start at 50MB/s then gradualy drop to ~30MB/s
A cifs transfer to multiple pc's totals ~ 60MB/s dose not matter if its 2 or 5pc performance is about the same. No difrence if linux or windows 7.

server spec:
freenas 8.3 pool v28 performance was very simila on v15
AMD X3 processor
Asus workstation motherbord
PCI-x HBA supermicro aoc-sat2-mv8 (should be good for 100MB/s a channel) http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=10
8GB ram
2x Icy Box IB-555SSK backplanes with 4 disks in each going to the supermicro HBA
Gigabit network 2 nic both realtek but difrent chipsets. No agrigaed link performance equal on both.
Intel server NIC same performance as reltek may put back in if I can get close to saturating a gigabitlink.