Alot of used servers here a few of which would work I think. Opinions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rahimlee54

Dabbler
Hi I am planning on setting up a freenas setup. I wanted to buy a rackmount server and give it a whirl on something that was ready to to while I learned the ropes of freenas. I have read a little here but haven't jumped in yet. A guy on craigslist has a quite a few servers that will meet the requirements for freenas aside from RAM, most DD3 so an easy fix.

I can buy any of these he has just figured I would put it here and see what you would pick. I am not sure what functions I want other than file storage for general home use: Media, documents, and pics. I know freenas can do way more but at this point I am still learning. So any opinions would be great. Maybe I should figure out the scope of what I want to do before purchase? These are pretty cheap though, and look like what I have seen some others use. I have a dedicated service room in the basement so noise isn't really an issue. Text from listing below:

I have a whole stack of rackmount servers that I'm looking to sell. From top to bottom:

HP DL380 G8; 5x 600GB SAS drives, I believe dual Xeon E5-2640 six-core CPUs, 8GB RAM; drive are $50-100 each on Ebay; I'll say $400 for the whole system

Dell R610: 2x Xeon E5620 quad-core CPUs, 4x 146GB HDD, 8GB RAM; $180

Two Supermicro AMD servers: each has FOUR twelve-core Opteron 6172 CPUs. Power draw is pretty hefty, but that's 96 CPU cores across two 1U servers. 8GB RAM; let's assume no drives for now. $350 each; $550 for the pair

HP DL380 G7: two X5660 six-core CPUs, no drives, 8GB RAM, dual PSUs. $250