AIO FreeNAS and Sophos UTM (32GB ECC, E3-1281, C226 Board, 10GB Fibre...)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jono_K

Cadet
Hello,

I'm considering moving to an all-in-one set-up for my current FreeNAS installation. I know, I know, AIO, a risky idea with ZFS, but I really think it will be fine....

My usage is fairly low, and consists of two full time users with limited data storage needs. Sophos UTM has been great, and I'd like to continue using it to secure our home network, and use the web server protection feature to secure a NextCloud instance. I've been using FreeNAS for the past three years, and was on Nexenta before then. I'd like to stay with FreeNAS for storage, although I'm not keen on using it as a hypervisor for other OSes.

My Sophos instance has been running reliably on ESXI for over a year, and I feel comfortable adding more pieces at this stage. As such, I'm preparing to migrate my existing FreeNAS and Sophos UTM from two discreet machines to a single all-in-one set-up.

Intel® Server Board S1200V3RPL - http://ark.intel.com/products/71384/Intel-Server-Board-S1200V3RPL (already own)
Proprietaty LSI add-on card provides RAID 1 (already own) with MFBU (will consider buying)
Intel® Xeon® Processor E3-1281 v3 - http://ark.intel.com/products/80907/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-1281-v3-8M-Cache-3_70-GHz (already own)
2 x Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3L 1600 (PC3L 12800) Server Memory Model CT2KIT102472BD160B (already own)
PCI-E Supermicro LSI 2008 SATA/SAS card in IT mode (already own)
2 Port Mellanox ConnectX 10G (plan to buy, appears ESXI and Sophis UTM both support)
2 x Finistar 10G optical transceiver (plan to buy)
Ebay 1GBE Copper transceiver (plan to buy)

Lexar 32GB JumpDrive P20 USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Speed Up to 400MB/s (LJDP20-32GCRBNA) (already own)