Add 4th drive to Raid set...NEWB HERE!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Billy Patterson

Dabbler
I'm VERY New to Freenas. I'm running Freenas 9.10 Last week I created a Raid 5 volume (Raidz1-0) that contains 3x 3.0TB drives (5.45TB Total space after creation. Last night I picked up another 3.0TB drive and want to add it to the volume. Very soon I plan to get a 5th 3.0TB drive and will want to add it as well for a total of 5 drives for the Volume (Raid 5). How can I do so without moving all of my data off and starting over? Is it even possible?

Thanks!

zambanini

Patron
you can add another vdev to your pool, in that case another raidz1. but you should prefer a big raidz2.

Mr_N

Patron
wait until you get a 6th drive and make a 6 drive z2 vdev, when you need more space after that add another 6 drives...

or use mirrors, 2 drives then add another mirror of 2 etc

Scharbag

Guru
What Mr_N said is good advice.

Basic ZFS primer: Pools are made of 1 or more vDevs. VDevs are made of physical drives. Once a Zx vDev is created, it cannot be made "larger" in capacity. If the vDev is a mirror, you can add drives to it to increase the parity count. Pools capacity can be increased by adding additional vDevs. It is recommended that all vDevs in a pool be made of the same RAID level using the same type of drives (capacity, RPM, block size). ZFS will allow you to mix vDev types in a pool if you want to, but, just because you can does not mean you should. :)

Note: if anyone finds mistakes above, please let me know.

I run Z2 in a 2x6 array of 12 drives. Fast enough for my needs. Resilient too as I have experienced a number of failed drives in the last 3 years due to Seagate 3TB drives being shite without data loss or unavailability. I have never needed to use my backups which is convenient for me.