AD and CIFS Configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi....

Is any pre requisite to integrate AD of Windows 2003 into FreeNAS 8.0.4 64 bit version.

I am trying to start AD in freenas but couldn't started.

winstontj

Explorer
I'll bump this thread rather than start a new one.

I'm getting an error "failure to join domain, invalid credentials"

I can ping both machines but that's about it. I can ping via host name and via IP from both the AD server and the Shell of FreeNAS. I have set up AD before on a FreeNAS box but it's been a while. I feel like I'm missing something dumb. I am following the docs exactly as written but it's failing at the authentication level and I can't get past it. Good news is that the two boxes are talking enough to fail authentication - but that's it.

bfishernc

Dabbler
I recently did this - didn't have any issues. I'm not an expert but will try to help if I can.

Did you follow the AD page in documentation? http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Active_Directory

I used IP address rather than host name, and I needed my full domain (home.fisher... not just fisher). I used Fisher in the workgroup name. And then used an Admin/password and it connected.

It automatically updates daily, or I can manually force an update.

winstontj

Explorer
I recently did this - didn't have any issues. I'm not an expert but will try to help if I can.

Did you follow the AD page in documentation? http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Active_Directory

I used IP address rather than host name, and I needed my full domain (home.fisher... not just fisher). I used Fisher in the workgroup name. And then used an Admin/password and it connected.

It automatically updates daily, or I can manually force an update.