A few questions regarding my first FreeNAS build and ZFS and AFP

Status
Not open for further replies.

RamGuy

Dabbler
I've finally moved my 7x Western Digital RE4 2TB array from my desktop computer over to a dedicated file server running FreeNAS 8.0.4, as this is my first attempt at FreeBSD and FreeNAS in the first place and I have only had experience running and configuring Windows and Mac's in the past I was curious about how this was all going to turn out.

But after one DOA motherboard and a pain in the arse rack-chase to build in it's all finally up and running. My hardware is as follows:

- Asus P8B-E/4L Intel C204 motherboard
- Intel Xeon E3-1270 CPU
- 16GB (4x 4GB) 1333MHz ECC RAM
- Gigabyte GeForce GT 520 (as I was stupid enough to get the E3-1270 instead of the E3-1275)
- LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i RAID controller
- FireWire 800 controller (but I guess FreeNAS does not support pushing backup towards external hard-drivers? nor grabbing data from external hard drives)
- 1x Intel 520-series SSD 60GB for FreeNAS 8.0.4 installation
- 7x Western Digital RE4 2TB drives for data storage

Installation went smoothly, network interface have been configured to run a 2x gigabit LACP link to my Cisco SRW2024 managed switch with fixed IP-address and the web-ui of FreeNAS is fairly easy to use even though I don't understand half of it's features.