480 TB z3 Backup Server

CharlesN

Cadet
We are having to do this build DIY, we have talked to iXsystems and 45 Drives and other NAS systems. The main issue is cost at two or three times the budget. The NAS side has tech limitations like Max pool sizes ect. Please let me know what you think about the below config. We are also going to add a 2nd system in Q2 that will be identical to replicate to off-site. I am fairly new to ZFS and FreeNAS ( I do have an 8 bay T630 at home for the last 3 months and love it).

Use Case
Veeam Image backups (75 local vSphere) (150 remote PC's)
Cold/Warm storage for decommission server images
Cold/Warm Storage from DB Backups

Shares
NFS and MinIO

Pool Config
1 Pool 4 x VDEV (15 disk) z3 (480TB)

Host Server
Dell PowerEdge R630 6xSAS12 + 4xNVMe
2 x Intel E5-2667v4 3.2GHz/25M/2400MHz 8-Core 135W
256GB 8 x Dell 32GB DDR4 LRDIMM, 2400MT/s Load Reduced
1 x HBA330 12Gbps SAS HBA Mini Mono Controller (NON-RAID) ( Local SAS12 HBA for OS and Cache )
2 x Dell 1.6TB PCIe NVMe Mix Use TLC 2.5" SSD, PM1725a ( cache ? )
2 x Dell 480GB 12Gbps SAS Mix Use MLC 2.5 SSD PX05SVB048Y ( OS Install )
1 x Intel XL710 Dual Port 40Gb QSFP+ rNDC ( Dual-link to HA Switch Stack )
2 x Dell SAS 12Gbps Host Bus Adapter External Controller Low Profile ( 1 Card for each controller on JBOD multipath , one available port on each for expansion)
1 x iDRAC8 Enterprise
2 x Dell 1100W 80 Plus Platinum Efficiency Power Supplies
1 x 5 Years Dell ProSupport and Next Business Day On-site Service

DAS JBOD
WD Ultrastar Data60 (1ES0350)
60 bays (SAS-3) 4U
60 x 10TB SAS 12Gb/s 512e ISE

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Without taking the time to look up all the rest of the hardware specifics, ...

You might be inflating the cost unnecessarily with the SAS drives. Your massive JBOD is spec'd at around $40K MSRP (findable for around $24K). 600TB raw. Or if we look at pool space (480TB), $50 per TB.