10GbE Setup Help

Fastline

Patron
Hello Guys,

I've been using the AQC107 Ethernet Adapter but the connection saturates. Everything has been done prior to switching to SFP+ for better speeds. I'm having Mikrotik CRS312-4C+8XG-RM and using Base-T for now but seriously, I'm not happy. I've been through the Network Primer post before. But I'm still new to the SFP+ setup. From what I understand, I need to choose the proper Fiber Optic and the SFP+ Module and the switch does not have a Vendor lock. Now the question is how do I confirm, that the SFP+ Module and switch have a Vendor lock or not? Moreover, what SFP+ should I choose? My budget is $50-100 for the Card and $50-100 for the SFP+ Module and the Fiber Optic.

I'm looking to buy Chelsio T520-SO-CR or Chelsio T520-CR. Not sure, if these two are the latest model from Chelsio for 10GbE. Any confirmation regarding this?

My Current Configuration:

Motherboard: GIGABYTE B460M D3H
CPU: Intel Core i5 10400
RAM: Corsair 4x16GB DDR4 3200MHz
Storage: Seagate 6x16TB EXOS (SATA 6Gb/s onboard), RAID-Z1
Network: ASUS 10GbE Base-T and the same adapter on the client computer (Connected via CAT6 Cable)
Switch: MikroTik Cloud Router Switch (CRS312-4C+8XG-RM)
PSU: Antec 850W Gold

In short, please let me know about the following:

1. Switch - if it's good enough for the 10GbE loads, without saturation/drop-offs.
2. SFP+ NIC - Recommendations. Review on Chelsio T520-SO-CR or Chelsio T520-CR.
3. SFP+ Module - What Module should i buy?
4. Fiber Optic Cable - What kind of Fiber Optic do I need to buy?

Last edited:

Etorix

Wizard
1. It should be.
2. "Server Offload" means that the NIC offsets some work to the CPU. So if you have a choice, the non-SO cards are better.
3. For short lengths, a DAC will do, for less money.
4. Otherwise, the primer recommends OM3/OM4 patch cable with duplex LC. And then matching SR (Short Range) modules.

danb35

Hall of Famer
3. SFP+ Module - What Module should i buy?