ZFS configuration options for storing millions of images

Status
Not open for further replies.

c4st

Cadet
I am designing a system capable of working with 15 million (and growing) image files ranging from 100kb to 10mb. After some preliminary research, our first choice is ZFS on FreeNAS. I was hoping I could get the the communities plan on our proposed hardware and ZFS configuration. We recognize we're dealing with a few non-optional/odd configurations/requirements.

Disclaimer: I'm a Software Engineer; I typically do not work on the filesystem level so I apologize in advanced if anything mentioned below is woefully inaccurate in relation to ZFS.

Environment:
  • Concurrent Connections: This is an internal application that will only be utilized by a few folks. It's safe to say there will never be more than 5 concurrent connections accessing this data. In most (95%) cases, only one or two users may be accessing this data concurrently.
  • Network: This data will only be accessed internally on a 1GbE network, though a 10GbE network is in the works for systems that will read this data.
  • Hardware: The hardware we have allocated for this project is a mixture of older enterprise grade hardware and consumer grade storage (great combination, I know).

Dell R720xd w/ 24x 2.5” bays
    RAM: 128GB RAM (more can be allocated if needed)
    CPU: 2x E5-2620 @ 2.20GHz
    Storage:
    8x2TB SSDs local storage (Crucial MX500)
    1x500GB SSD for OS and Database (Crucial MX500)
    RAID: H310 (IT Mode)
The Data
  • In almost all cases, the data will be permanently stored on the drive after the initial write.
  • The data will not be modified (edited, compressed, resized, etc) after the initial write.
  • The directory structure of the data is non-optimal [1], due to the design of the application pulling this data, it is more or less immutable.
  • The data should be read optimized which includes, but may not be limited to: random/sequential reads, directory listings, etc.