Will this FreeNAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sia.Z

Cadet
good afternoon all,
first i would like to say i have spent about a week reading all the posts regarding FreeNAS and required specs but i am new to FreeNAS,

i am planning to purchase a second hand Server to deploy a File Server and possibly a Cloud front end to house a small business's documents (word/excel/pdf/lot of CAD files/images) eventually (in 3 Years) this will also server as the company WEB server that will host a small word-press Site
at the moment there will be 6 full time users. with the possibility of this doubling in the next 5 years. files served can be 20-30 mb in size at most. but 99% most are less than 1mb the shared web server doesnt get hit very much and its just for people to find business hours and small info about that business activities and what it does. server will be on the local network. at most i would need 1 TB of space i plan to use 4x 2TB SAS Drives and one 2TB drive for weekly backups off site.

the specs are:

HP Proliant DL360 G6 - 2 x 2.40GHz / 26GB RAM

1U rack server HP ProLiant DL360 G6

2 x 2.40GHz Xeon E5620 Quad Core Intel processor 8 cores total / 16 Logical Processors

26 GB 10600R ECC Registered RAM
Room for 4 2.5" SAS / SATA drives, 4 trays w/screws included

HP Smart Array E410i Raid Controller 256MB with battery
Dual Port Gig NIC onboard

2 x 460W Power Supply
DVD drive
Rack-Mountable 1U

everything on the server except the HDD i can get for 200$ i would need to purchase the HDD.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
That all might be fine if you were going to use Windows, but you do not need any sort of Hardware RAID controller if you're using FreeNAS. FreeNAS uses ZFS. ZFS controls the disks, so you don't need any hardware RAID all. The hardware you have outlined is not correct.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

danb35

Hall of Famer
so you don't need any hardware RAID all.