What if the FreeNAS host fails?

Status
Not open for further replies.

aravindh

Cadet
Hello.
Newbie here, never built a FreeNAS setup or ZFS setup before this. Please pardon my innocence.

I'm thinking of building out a backup NFS server for our cluster based on a SuperMicro server as specified in my prior question: FreeNAS on SuperMicro SuperStorage Server 6049P-E1CR36H?

Thinking more about it, I'm wondering about failure scenarios. I trust ZFS to handle disk failures gracefully and not eat up all our data, but what about the host failure (say a hardware failure) that prevents me from booting back in to FreeNAS again...
Would I be able to build out another FreeNAS server and just move the disks (with ZFS data) to the new server and have them recognised?
I did some Googling before, and read everywhere as a migration scenario to issue a "zfs export" on the pools and then do a "zfs import" on the new system. I can't do that on a host crash. What would the solution be?

Thanks.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Would I be able to build out another FreeNAS server and just move the disks (with ZFS data) to the new server and have them recognised?
Yes.

I did some Googling before, and read everywhere as a migration scenario to issue a "zfs export" on the pools and then do a "zfs import" on the new system. I can't do that on a host crash. What would the solution be?
ZFS can easily recover from most improperly exported pools. It's not magic and doesn't absolve you from maintaining your backups, but it's better than other filesystems.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Thinking more about it, I'm wondering about failure scenarios.
You should not need a whole new server. That is pretty drastic.
Most likely, you can just fix whatever broke and be back online.
I have had boot drives fail in a couple different servers over the years, and after replacement of the boot drive, and reinstall the OS, the pool was imported and services restored with just a couple hours of down time.