Volume size not the same as on setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

NoHesHere

Cadet
Hi all,

I am new to FreeNAS, and just built a NAS from scratch the other day. Everything was/is working perfectly, but this morning I noticed that the size of the Z1 volume I created is reporting as less than it did at initial setup.

I have 7 2TB WD Red drives, in a Z1 array. I created a volume spanning all the disks, and it reported 10.5TB as the available space. I created 3 datasets, each with their own quota's (6TB, 4.3TB, 75GB), and the total does not sum up to more than the 10.5TB I should have. By my calculations, I should have 125GB remaining.

When I logged into the web UI this morning, the 10.5TB volume (not the datasets) reports available space as 8TB (which is about right, from my transferring, though I am not sure if that part should be updating or not), but it also lists the Size (which I take to be the total size, used and unused space) as 8TB. Is this something to worry about? Do I still have 10.5TB to allocate, or do I have space that disappeared somewhere?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
ZFS space accounting is confusing and complicated. Don't feel bad if it doesn't make sense. I don't like trying to wrap my head around the numbers sometimes either, but if you experiment a little bit with some 100GB files, you can get a feel for how it all fits together. That's what I do if it doesn't seem to be making sense, then I usually see what it is doing.

jgreco

Resident Grinch