Using FreeNas Scale on consumer hardware - suggestions?

aljovin

Cadet
I'm new to FreeNas, but I've had an old Linux machine work as a NAS server for a long time. (it's an Athlon II with 6Gb RAM and mis-matched hard drives). YET, I do not feel that I'm even close to being an expert, or even just comfortable; I'm a Windows application developer and trying to learn Linux. ZFS is still very obscure to me yet, trying to learn more about it.

The Setup:
I am building a new NAS and wanted to use FreeNAS for this version. I do not have access to server components (mainly, not wanting a loud server running next to my office desk). This will be used for a home network, using it for file repositories, movies, potentially using some datasets as iScsi drives for VMs and backups of VMs.

I am planning on using 5 Seagate Ironwolf 4tb drives (5400rpm) + 1 Seagate Ironwolf 4tb drive (7200RPM) in my main pool as a RaidZ1 for a total of about 20Tb If I calculate correctly.
FreeNas Boot up drive would be a 64Gb SSD that I have laying around.

I'm planning on getting a PCIe 10-16 ports SATA card to plug those with SATA 3, 6Gb/s.
The CPU would be an old i7 (4th Gen) with 16 gb RAM.

The Backup:
Also, my old NAS has some very old drives (from 5 to 12 years old drives : WD Green 1.8Tb (x2) 1.5 (x3) and a few other mismatched HDD (500Gb-1Tb HDD), I was planning on using an old i5 that I have laying around to build it as a backup NAS, adding all the drives as a Stripe pool. Knowing that some drives are going to start failing, is it possible to remove from the pool the failed drives and restart the backups? Or for this perticular use-case, I should be looking at another option for backup purpose?

I also have a TerraMaster F4 with 4x 3Tb HDD in Raid5, for critical data, so I wouldn't back the data that I do not want to loose on the old drive-NAS.

A few questions on this set-up: