Used Space - Dont know where.

tmsfcs

Cadet
Hello

I just found Freenas 1 month ago, i'm a lot newbie, i'm trying to configure 2 servers ( HP Proliant 310) with some storage, one to be fileserver on a SMB and other to replication an a URbackup server and now i'm strugling with one problem with the storage.

NAS1 ( Fileserver)
POOL: NAS 1 ( 2.5TB )
DATASET: Fileserver ( 2.5TB)
Total Storage 3.4TB ( RAID5)

I just install it, create the pool, the dataset and i'm sharing it trough iSCI to a window server ( where i have the SMB shares). Everything was working fine and i had
I had 2TB free.

After that i creat a snapshot task to start the replication, a snapshot every 4 hours, with 2 days duration. I had a lot os spnas before correctly configure corretly the replication, but was no working well ( the other NAS was updating).

When it start work correctly is just deleted the snapshot that i dont need.

After that the system says i have at this pool/dataset 2.1TB used when i have around 200GB on the files on the filesever and figureout how i can now clear that space.

screen1.jpg

I just wondering where is my used space..

Sorry to be sooo newbie!!

melloa

Wizard
Hi,

Based on the little information here, I'd say you are using a hardware raid card. FreeNAS is based on FreeBSD and runs ZFS, wish requires direct access to the disks - please correct me if I'm wrong.

If I'm wrong and you are using a HBA in IT mode, please post the specs of your server, including the HBA.

tmsfcs

Cadet
Hello, i'm using a HP Proliant Ml310E with 4 Disck 1TB

It have a B120i Array Controler and i just desative array to the discs be expose ( in some posts have information that it is a branded intel chip and it will work fine).

Freenas install, i can see the discs and i can i creat the poll on freenas, normaly ( Raid5).

The filesystem was working for 2 weeks with no problems. Just after i start the snapashots i had this issue.

melloa

Wizard