Upgrade issue 13.0-U2->13.0-U3

tomchr

Cadet
Hello,

I've been relying on FreeNAS/TrueNAS since 2019 and love it. I started on FreeNAS 11.2-U6 and have always upgraded to the latest stable release through the Dashboard->Check for Updates. That approach has worked reliably until now.

I upgraded from FreeNAS 12.0-U8 to TrueNAS on May 2, 2022. I forget the exact version of TrueNAS but it was the latest stable release at the time. That upgrade went well. I updated the data pools to include the latest flags.

I had issues after the upgrade to 13.0-U2. Displaying the contents of a folder on the NAS in Finder (on Mac) took minutes versus seconds before. Cloud sync tasks that normally take a few minutes to run would take hours and usually not finish. The error message indicated some sort of network timeout. Checking for updates through the Dashboard->Check for Updates would time out as well. Installing a fresh copy of TrueNAS from USB did not solve the issue either. It seemed like a network issue, but the web UI responded fast as always. I did try a different network cable and different port on the switch. I also looked through the startup log (dmesg command) but found nothing of note there. I thought the NAS hardware had bit the dust, so I swapped the drives into a (nearly) identical machine and rebooted. Lo and behold, TrueNAS came to life and performed to spec.

Life was grand until I upgraded from 13.0-U2 to 13.0-U3. Then I had the same issues: Extremely slow responding Finder, cloud sync tasks ending in network timeouts, Dashboard->Check for Updates ending in timeout, etc. I swapped back to the original hardware and the issues went away.

It almost seems like there's something that's tied to the CPU - maybe a seed for a random number generator or the CPU ID - that needs to get reset after the upgrade. Am I missing something obvious?