Update Plex Plugin

Status
Not open for further replies.

thejamesk

Explorer
Hi

I'm wondering if anyone knows a safe/recommended method for updating the Plex Plugin from version 1.13.4.5271 to version 1.13.5.5291 I am using FreeNAS Version 11.2BETA-3

Thanks in advance

kdragon75

Wizard
If the plugin is not updated, there is no good way to do it. This is the reason many people build a jail from scratch and install from pkg or ports. Dig around, I know there are a few guides on this as Plex is a hot topic around here.

Scrat_

Explorer
Disable the iocage repo, enable the FreeBSD repo and then you can use pkg to update Plex.
How? I'm asking for educational reasons at this point. I'm relatively new to FreeNAS.

Sent from my SM-N950W using Tapatalk

thejamesk

Explorer
How often is the FreeNAS Plugin directory updated? Upon checking the release log for Plex I'm not too desperate to update but of course would hate to miss out on major bug fixes and feature releases.

Rusty!

Dabbler
I think it follows the quarterly cycle.

To switch repos you need to edit both iocage.conf and FreeBSD.conf in/usr/local/etc/repos

Also ensure that /etc/pkg/FreeBSD.conf is set to latest.

indivision

Guru

ovizii

Patron
Would you be up to posting a step-by-step guide on how to do this for those of us that are FreeBSD challenged?
To be honest, its all explained in that file but in broad steps, from memory:
jls to find the plex container
jexec into it
make a directory to hold the PMSUpdater script and download it with wget
edit it with i.e. nano to adapt to your needs.
then create a cronjob to run daily with crontab.

If that does not help, I'll check after work at home and give more details.

kdragon75

Wizard
jexec into it

Thats for warden right? He's on 11.2BETA3. If he installed the plugin from the new UI its the new iocage jail format.

ovizii

Patron
Thats for warden right? He's on 11.2BETA3. If he installed the plugin from the new UI its the new iocage jail format.