TrueNAS randomly reboots or quits responding

Danpomeroy

Dabbler
Hi Everyone,

I am very new at TrueNAS and Linux in general. Strong computer background that just doesn't include these.

With that said, I am at a loss. TrueNAS will randomly either reboot or stop responding. I have a monitor connected to the computer and when it stops responding, nothing is shown there. When it reboots, everything looks normal.

I don't know where the logs are. I could probably muddle my way through reading them but need to know where to find them to do that.

Basic specs:

Motherboard: Biostar TB250-BTC
CPU: Intel G4400 (I did have an i5-6500 in there until a couple of days ago. same issue)
RAM: 8 gigs Crucial value 2133mhz
SSD: Kingston 256 gig (about a year old)
HDD: 5 various size spindle drives each in their own vdev, striped. Each rive has been tested using HD Sentinel surface tester
PSU: Brand New Thermaltake 700W
Interface 1: 1gig onboard NIC
Interface 2: 2.5gig PCI-e card (problem existed before I added the card too)

I do have a few plugins running but nothing too amazing
  • heimdall-dashboard
  • Openspeedtest
  • sabnzbd
  • tautulli
Please help.

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
A random reboot or hang often indicates a hardware issue - bad CPU/MBD/RAM, or dodgy power.

Have you tested the system with something like memtest86 (free version is fine) to see if it will continue running there? Does it seem to occur more often if the system is under heavy load?

Danpomeroy

Dabbler
A random reboot or hang often indicates a hardware issue - bad CPU/MBD/RAM, or dodgy power.

Have you tested the system with something like memtest86 (free version is fine) to see if it will continue running there? Does it seem to occur more often if the system is under heavy load?

ok, dumb question... how do I run memtest on this?

I was using the hardware in a Windows 10 based 'NAS' for a while and everything was fine.