TrueNAS NOOB Looking for best practices on multi nic configuration

erobby

Cadet
Hey Noob here just trying the figure out the best way to configure TrueNAS.

I have an old system:
Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G3420 @ 3.20GHz
8 GB of RAM
Highpoint RocketRaid 642L controller
8 X 4 GB 7200 RPM drives
1 X 1 GB onboard NIC
1 X 4 port 1 GB NIC (Jumbo Frames, 9000 MTU)

Looking for the best configuration ideas. My current thinking is to have the onboard NIC connected to my network and the 4 port NIC connected directly to my other system (Windows Server).

The 4 port NIC is split across 4 separate networks using iSCSI MPIO.

I'm noticing a lot of broadcast traffic when moving data to the NAS causing a slowdown on the Windows Server. I considered configuring 4 VLANs for the 4 port NIC to reduce broadcast zones, but I'm not sure if that's the best way to set this up.

This is only a temporary configuration so I can move about 15 TB of data to the TrueNAS storage, but I'm concerned that it starts at about 800 - 900 MB/s and drops down to KB/s. I figure this is due to broadcast and setting up VLANs on the TrueNAS would be a great way to eliminate the problem.

I'm going to give that configuration a try, but I would like to know the thoughts of some of the TrueNAS pros.

Thanks in Advance.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
1 X 4 port 1 GB NIC (Jumbo Frames, 9000 MTU)
it starts at about 800 - 900 MB/s and drops down to KB/s.
Did you mean 8-900Mb/s (megabits) or did you mean 10 Gbit NIC, which would be capable of 8-900MB/s (megabytes) and might make more sense of you having called out the MTU of 9000 (which usually isn't something you would do on single Gigabit... I have even seen comments that it's not really recommended anymore for 10 Gig.)?

Depending on what you intend to connect it to and which protocols, you may find using LACP/LAGG is something useful, which allows multiple (maybe all 4) NICs to connect with the same IP/bridge... the connection would look like this: