To shuck or not to shuck....

tomahawkeer

Dabbler
I will preface this by saying, that I am very new to Freenas as well as this community, and I did do a search to try to find some good answers, however, everything just kind of skimmed the surface.

So with that being said, is there a benefit to using shucked drives in freenas, outside of the obvious lower price? Reliability / performance issues?

I was in the process of building my first freenas server, and im basically looking to replace a workstation / drobo USB device combo, that runs a plex server, and shares out storage to the rest of my devices on my network. That setup actually works well for me, however, the workstation is older, and using a proprietary device like a drobo (or synology or qnas etc) is something that I just don't like to do / rely on, especially with aging hardware (4 x 4tb red drives and almost 3 year old drobo), and a gen 1 I7 workstation.

I had spare parts sitting around, basically a Gen 3 I7 3770, and 16gb of ram, and 5 x 8TB wd harddrives, so I decided to buy a case / psu and a few other odds and ends to make it work. Needless to say, I had no issue getting freenas up and running (booting to thumbdrive), I was able to shuck all 5 harddrives, and get them into the server without issue. 1 problem, is the fact that 3 of the drives (I knew this prior to shucking) were probably bad and also already out of warranty. The other 2 were also out of warranty, but tested good.

My question now, is do I buy a few more 8TB drives to shuck (2 or 3ish) to complete the build, or do I start from scratch and just buy actual internal harddrives / red drives etc. Yes, I know I could take the 4TB from the drobo, that is also an option, but I wouldn't mind have the drives be newer.

Any feedback would be great.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
booting to thumbdrive