To replace or upgrade? (Formerly 3ware hardware raid, soon to be FreeNAS)

Can I save more money building a "low power" system, or repurposing my old NAS?

• Start fresh (get new hardware that doesn't need as much power)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cricket

Cadet
Hi all,
I've been running a hardware RAID under Ubuntu since 2007. It's had a few upgrades along the way (most major being the move from Core2Duo to dual Xeon about 1 year ago) however the system lost it's final hot-spare last month and now I'm effectively just running as a RAID 5 using 7 year old hard drives. It makes me nervous. I think it's time to move forward with something better. My problem is this, do I "upgrade" the existing system (specs to follow) and use it for my new FreeNAS server, or do I start from scratch and repurpose this computer completely. It would make a pretty decent workstation for my GIS or pretty much anything else. It is solid and I like it, but hardware RAID is tough when you need identical matching hard drives and your RAID will only come to life on one brand of hardware (if my 3ware controller died I would have a bad, bad day).

My existing hardware (it served me well but it's time to move on):
-Supermicro X7DCA-L
-2x Intel Xeon 5150 CPUs
-16GB ECC DDR2
-3ware 9650SE 12 drive PCIe hardware RAID
-12x hot-swap Seagate ES 320GB drives (currently running with 10 drives in a hardware RAID5 without hotspares because I can't find trustworthy replacements!!!)
-Huge Supermicro case, modded to make it quiet enough to keep under my desk.
-Huge 1,000 watt PSU to keep all those CPUs and drives going

So, what is your advice? I see two main options, use some of the hardware for a FreeNAS or use none of this hardware and build from scratch. I want something that can:
1) Store about 10TB (today's prices make this easy)
2) Last at least 7 years without constant babying (old system did this)