The Layman's Guide to RancherOS or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Switch to Docker

n3IVI0

Dabbler
First some caveats. This is not a definitive guide. I am well aware that there are multiple methods of running Docker on RancherOS. This is what worked for me. I have thoroughly tested my system, and I am confident I have worked out all the gotchas (with Linux/FreeBSD there are ALWAYS gotchas), and got a smooth running setup. This guide is written with the understanding that you're not a complete NOOB, but I have tried to make the language as noob-friendly and easy to follow as I can. My thanks to Keith Walker, who wrote the Rancher-NFS script that makes mounting the shares work, and produced these handy videos that helped me get started on this path. Those are in four parts, and can be found (here, here, here, and here).

So here goes.

How to Set Up the Ridiculously Complicated RancherOS and Docker on FreeNAS 11.2-U2:

1) Create the RancherOS VM:

Login to the slick new FreeNAS UI and scroll down to 'Virtual Machines'. Click on 'Actions', and 'Add Docker Container'. Give your container a name, all lowercase. Give your VM at least 2 CPUs and 4096 MiB of RAM. I run Emby on mine, so I gave mine more. Attach the virtual NIC to the real NIC on your router (mine is igb2). I also took the added step of using the virtual MAC address to setup a static IP on my router. You want your RancherOS to have the same IP every time. Give your RancherOS enough space. 20 GiB is probably adequate, but if you think you might need more, give it more. Choose where to keep the file this will create. If all looks good, click 'Submit' to create the VM.

2) Configure and load the VM: