Testing Freenas on a VM - How do I tell my raid status?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichTJ99

Patron
Hi,

I am doing some playing on a test VM with Freenas. I set up a 2gb drive for boot, and two 50gb drives to simulate ZFS. I am just getting started with windows shares & the permissions. Enjoying the process so far.

My goal is a 4-6 drive system in the near future but where can i see my drive status?

Ideally I would like to see both the 50gb in a zfs drive - i just dont know where to look.

Thanks,
Rich

danb35

Hall of Famer
The volume status page would be a good start. Go to storage -> click on your pool (the top entry), then click the Volume Status button at the bottom (it looks like a blank sheet of notebook paper).

RichTJ99

Patron
I added 4 more drives via VM. I chose expand volume. Should this be a ZFS drive where i can simulate drive failures?

Attachments

• storage.JPG
    storage.JPG
    46.7 KB · Views: 256
  • freenas.JPG
    freenas.JPG
    60 KB · Views: 229

jgreco

Resident Grinch
It's kind of difficult to simulate meaningful drive failures in a virtualized environment. You can remove a disk, but that's kind of drastic.

solarisguy

Guru
@RichTJ99, will the final system run on hardware or on VM ?

You cannot fully test all the possible scenarios on the other platform (it goes both ways).

RichTJ99

Patron
Hi,

I am going to be using server hardware for the final build. I am looking to get familiar with Freenas in general. Right now I have data floating on 4 different pc's & would love to consolidate it all in one location.

This virtual PC is only for testing. I want to setup Plex, DLNA, and Virtualbox to see how it all works.

Thanks,
Rich

RichTJ99

Patron
Taking this one step further, my VM has 6x 50gb drives

To confirm two drives are for redundancy right?

If I have 6x 4tb WD Red drives I would have a usable 16tb on the pool?

solarisguy

Guru

Assuming RAID-Z2, with 6 drives, two of them would be exclusively devoted to parity.