SuperMicro Red Light implimentation plans??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Visseroth

Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
546
I'm just curious. Are there any plans to make use of the red failure lights on the SuperMicro cases?

I love having the activity lights, they help you understand that the server is busy, ect and help you find that one drive that is acting up but what about those red lights? Are there any plans to put them to use?

I noticed a post when I did a search and I believe it said something about there possibly being something in version 10.

Just thought I'd get some clarity. I understand it probably won't be no easy task. Definitely not something I'm capable of helping with. Wish I could.
 

pclausen

Patron
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
267
If you download and install sas2ircu from LSI, you can use that to turn on the red LEDs on the bays in SuperMicro cases.

First you run 'sas2ircu list' to get a list of all your HBAs. In my case, I have 3, so I get the following:

Code:
         Adapter      Vendor  Device                       SubSys  SubSys
Index    Type          ID      ID    Pci Address          Ven ID  Dev ID
-----  ------------  ------  ------  -----------------    ------  ------
   0     SAS2008     1000h    72h   00h:03h:00h:00h      1000h   3020h

         Adapter      Vendor  Device                       SubSys  SubSys
Index    Type          ID      ID    Pci Address          Ven ID  Dev ID
-----  ------------  ------  ------  -----------------    ------  ------
   1     SAS2008     1000h    72h   00h:04h:00h:00h      1000h   3020h

         Adapter      Vendor  Device                       SubSys  SubSys
Index    Type          ID      ID    Pci Address          Ven ID  Dev ID
-----  ------------  ------  ------  -----------------    ------  ------
   2     SAS2008     1000h    72h   00h:05h:00h:00h      1000h   3020h


Then you run 'sas2ircu # display' where # is the Index for the HBA you want to look at.

So to look at HBA 0 I would enter 'sas2ircu 0 display', which would give me the following (I'm only showing the output for the hard disk in slot 0):

Code:
Initiator at ID #0

Device is a Hard disk
  Enclosure #                             : 2
  Slot #                                  : 0
  SAS Address                             : 5003048-0-01a2-134c
  State                                   : Ready (RDY)
  Size (in MB)/(in sectors)               : 3815447/7814037167
  Manufacturer                            : ATA
  Model Number                            : ST4000DM000-1F21
  Firmware Revision                       : CC52
  Serial No                               : Z301N139
  GUID                                    : N/A
  Protocol                                : SATA
  Drive Type                              : SATA_HDD


So to turn on the red LED for the drive in slot 0 in enclosure 2 on HBA 0, I would issue the command:

Code:
[root@argon] ~/scripts# sas2ircu 0 locate 2:0 ON
LSI Corporation SAS2 IR Configuration Utility.
Version 20.00.00.00 (2014.09.18)
Copyright (c) 2008-2014 LSI Corporation. All rights reserved.

SAS2IRCU: LOCATE command completed successfully.
SAS2IRCU: Command LOCATE Completed Successfully.
SAS2IRCU: Utility Completed Successfully.


And now that LED is flashing:

supermicroredled.JPG


Issue 'sas2ircu 0 locate 2:0 OFF' to turn the LED back off.

I think the challenge is how to map the FreeNAS ada# or da# values to the corresponding physical controller, enclosure backplane and slot. But, since the display command above shows the serial number of each hard disk, and FreeNAS knows the hard disk serial number to ada#/ad#, it should be a simple mapping exercise I would think.

I definitely vote for this being a feature added in version 10!
 
Last edited:

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
3,710
Use the drive serial number for the mapping and you'll have a complete thing ;)
 

pclausen

Patron
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
267
Yep. I edited my post to reflect that as you were replying. :D
 

Arwen

MVP
Joined
May 17, 2014
Messages
3,611
One way to implement this feature in FreeNAS 10, is a type of plugin. So
we would have a SuperMicro LED plug, a HP Microserver plugin, etc...

Unfortunantly this is motherboard, HBA, and chassis specific. However,
for those of us willing, we can setup some stock profiles for all users. With
a plugin users guide to how to configure your own, (and maybe add it to
the stock profiles).
 

Visseroth

Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
546
That would be seriously sweet!
I'd love to at least be able to click something and tell it to light up so the drive can more easily be found without error vs hoping that I pull the correct drive.
Granted good documentation is where it is at but this would reduce human error DRASTICALLY!

I'll definitely be downloading sas2ircu list so it is at least available.

Where would we put it in for a feature request? How would we get it implemented as a plugin?
 

CheckYourSix

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
19
I'm interested in trying to build something for this. I'll have to read up on FreeNAS plugin development and see what's involved.
 

Visseroth

Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
546

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
3,215
Just figured I would chime in and say I as well will be trying to look into this. Was just poking around and thinking along the same lines as the OP. On a side note, I noticed that both "sas2ircu" and "sas3ircu" appear to already be in the 9.3 version. I checked both a physical server (which has a H200, flashed to LSI in IT Mode) as well as an ESXi VM (FreeNas Tester VM).
 

Visseroth

Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
546
So! Time to try the lights and.... dad gum! I get ....

"LSI Corporation SAS2 IR Configuration Utility.
Version 20.00.00.00 (2014.09.18)
Copyright (c) 2008-2014 LSI Corporation. All rights reserved.

SAS2IRCU: No Controllers Found."

on my SuperMicro server. It's a older server but I have a drive dying per an email the server sent me this morning....

"Device: /dev/ada9, 66 Currently unreadable (pending) sectors
Device: /dev/ada9, 66 Offline uncorrectable sectors"

So I tried the "sas2ircu list" and the above LSI error was the output I received.
 

Visseroth

Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
546

sfcredfox

Patron
Joined
Aug 26, 2014
Messages
340

Visseroth

Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
546
Not to my knowledge due to differences in hardware, but a couple people are looking at the possibility, or I believe they are. But I doubt it'll be done anytime soon.
As I said before, I believe it to be a very handy feature, though not critical and obviously shouldn't be strictly relied upon, but it sure would make quick work of finding a drive in a big pool of drives to at least get you pointed in the right direction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top