Supermicro 2014CS-TR - 2U build - any red flags?

PitJack

Cadet
I plan on purchasing a Supermicro 2U server with the following specs, and was wondering if there are any red flags or compatiblity issues with the build. I'm not a total newbie (20yr linux sysadmin), but also not a TrueNAS or ZFS expert (yet) I'd just like to make sure I have not overlooked anything. I am new to this site (this is my first post), but have already read the basic required reading - Hardware Recommendations Guide, 10G Primer, ZFS Introduction, and a few others. I'm not totally new to ZFS either, I've been managing basic pools used for backups for about 8 years, but haven't done anything too advanced with ZFS or run a production TrueNAS server yet. I've installed TrueNAS on a lab server and gotten familiar with how to perform basic functions, and also watched my fair share of YT videos on the topic.

If you notice any red flags with this build, or recommend different hardware (eg: NIC, Controller, etc), please let me know. Thank you.

Supermicro 2014CS-TR 2U Rack Server
  • Supermicro A+ Server 2014CS-TR - 2U - 12x SATA/SAS (optional 4x U.2 NVMe) - 2x AIOM - 920W 1+1 Redundant
  • Supermicro AOC-S3616L-L16iT SAS3/SATA 16-Port Host Bus Adapter - PCIe 3.0 x8
  • AMD EPYC 7313P Processor 16-core 3.00GHz 128MB Cache (155W)
  • 8 x 32GB PC4-25600 3200MHz DDR4 ECC RDIMM
  • 960GB Micron 7450 PRO Series M.2 PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe Solid State Drive (80mm)
  • 1.92TB Micron 7450 PRO Series M.2 PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe Solid State Drive (110mm)
  • Broadcom 3616 [SAS 12, 16 ports] No RAID
  • 12 x 20TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 7200RPM - 3.5" - Ultrastar DC HC560 (512e/4Kn)
  • Broadcom NetXtreme 10-Gigabit Ethernet Network Adapter P210P - PCIe 3.0 x8 - 2x SFP+
  • Supermicro AIOM OCP 3.0 - 4x 1GbE RJ45 - Intel i350-AM4 - PCI-E 2.1 x4 - AOC-AG-i4M

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Broadcom 3616 [SAS 12, 16 ports] No RAID
Supermicro AOC-S3616L-L16iT SAS3/SATA 16-Port Host Bus Adapter - PCIe 3.0 x8